Ping & ARP

General chat concerning linux or linuxzoo.

Moderator: drgrussell

Post Reply
1MB
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:00 pm

Ping & ARP

Post by 1MB » Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:08 pm

HI , I am pinging an address 10.10.0.2 , there is no response but the arp cache shows an entry but when i change the host ip to 10.10.10.254 still no response but there is no entry in the ARP cache. Does this depend on which segment the host you are pinging lies or is it the firewall .

As far as i know only ICMP echo request are blocked by firewall and not ARP.

Any suggestions

drgrussell
Site Admin
Posts: 426
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 8:57 pm
Are you a robot or a human?: Human

Post by drgrussell » Tue Jan 13, 2009 10:03 pm

10.10.0.2 is not used in linuxzoo right now. It travels to a black hole route and is silently dropped. However, the arp may be proxied, so you may receive the mac address of the gateway in this case.

Changing your ip would kill your machine, as my virtual network is routed and not switched. You can only use the ip i give you. Sorry.

Gordon.

faarisuman

Re: Ping & ARP

Post by faarisuman » Fri Jan 02, 2015 8:26 am

I forget the exact syntax (without going looking for it), but we did that in 2nd year on SUSE GUI also.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest